Micro Amiga One Birthday treat!

amiga_boing

 

This is sort of a belated blog, written back in February. It has been sitting on the NC100 waiting to be uploaded. Sadly ill health, bad weather and life in general took their toll. So here finally is the belated birthday blog of 2013!! Ho ho ho…wait that’s not right!

A recent addition to my collection of computers, is a very shiny Au1, better known as a Micro AmigaOne. A totally unexpected but welcome birthday gift from my father. After a few weeks of playing around with the machine, I have to say I’m very impressed with the latest offering of the Workbench operation system. OS4.2 retains a certain similarity with 3.1 and 3.9, while at the same time it evident some thoughts has been put in to this release.  The Au1 is a giant leap from my classic 68k Amiga, having never used a PPC system before. I have to say my first impressions are very positive. On the one hand everything feels just as it does when I’m using my Amiga 1200, but then you have programs such as OWB, which offer as close to a modern day browsing experience as you can find on any Amiga, which is leagues apart from Ibrowse on the old 68k 1200.

One thing is for sure, I’ll be spending some time getting myself familiar with this new computer as well as Workbench / OS4 or what ever you want to call it.

I know one thing for certain, I’m looking forward to seeing what games are available on the PPC Amiga. As well as if they actually make use of the 750mhz cpu and ATI radeon video card. It is certainly a step up from my Picasso II in the A3000.

Written on an Amstrad NC100

3 Comments on “Micro Amiga One Birthday treat!”

  1. Coder says:

    I just love OS4.x. I am still running with the A1SE developer board.


Leave a Reply

