Retro Tinkering In 2013

HAPPY 2013!!

First of all, let me wish you all a happy new year! Hopefully
like me you’re recovering from Christmas and want to get away
from turkey sandwiches, chocolates, funny paper hats and reruns.

Never one to sit around twiddling my thumbs, I’ve found myself
with 2 Sony Playstation 3’s to fix, as well as 2 broken Nintendo
DS consoles. Now why should I be excited about that? Well I was
given a pink NDS a year ago, with the understanding it would get
swapped for a black one. Sadly that didn’t happen and I’ve hardly
touched it, I just don’t like pink, green, blue, red, black yes!
but pink? Not so much. So one of these broken NDS’s happens to be
black! it has a minor crack on the left hinge, but nothing a bit
of superglue wont fix. So hopefully I shall be covering
dismantling the NDS and swapping the cases.

The two PS3’s are both suffering from the yellow light of death,
which means they needs stripping down and the heat gun applying
to them. This wont be the first time I have done this, but it
shall be the first time I covering it in a BMV blog.

Last but not least, there will be further coverage of the
Raspberry Pi and getting it to run arcade games. Some of you who
follow my blog, may have read about the Picade. Certainly a fun
project for this tiny computer, but not the last. There are
dozens of projects this Raspberry Pi can be put to. It’s just a
matter of thinking it up.

So till the next blog, keep geeking!
As I’m currently I’ll with the norovirus, I’m going back to
playing on the Amiga CD32 and feeling sorry for myself.

Written on wordperfect with Winuae.

2 Comments on “Retro Tinkering In 2013”

  1. Happy New Year to you, mate! 🙂 What are you playing on your CD32?

    • heamogoblin says:

      I was mostly playing Lemmings, but then i began playing Stunt Car Racer, as i was getting annoying with not having a mouse the navigate my little Lemmings around with. So booted the Nomad up and played it on there 🙂 Winuae certainly have proven a useful tool on that system.


Leave a Reply

